Latin American Workshop on Observational Cosmology

December 14-18, 2020 (by videoconference)
ICTP-SAIFR, São Paulo, Brazil

This workshop was originally intended to be an in-person workshop held at ICTP-SAIFR in São Paulo focusing on the Latin American community working in different aspects of theoretical and observational cosmology. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic this workshop will take place online. Understanding the limitations of online events we decided to follow a somewhat different format. We will take advantage of pre-recorded talks in order to leave ample time for discussions. The pre-recorded talks will be available beforehand and the participants can watch them at their convenience.

Each day of the event will consist of 2 sessions of 1 hour each with discussions focused on 3 pre-recorded talks. The speaker would make a 5 minutes summary at the beginning of the session where he/she is scheduled in order to start the discussions.

The workshop will cover topics such as: large-scale structure (theory and observations), gravitational lensing, tensions in cosmology, clusters, radio cosmology, dark matter and neutrinos, dark energy and modified gravity and machine learning techniques. We already have several confirmed speakers listed below but there are still a few available slots. Please indicate in the registration whether you would like to present a talk (also pre-recorded). The deadline for submitting a talk is November 15.

There is no registration fee.

Click here for online registration

Abstract submission deadline: November 15, 2020
Registration deadline: December 6, 2020

A preliminary list of speaker

Martin Crocce (Institute of Space Sciences-Barcelona, Spain)
Alex Drlica-Wagner (Fermilab, USA)
Pedro Ferreira (Oxford U., UK)
Carlos Frenk (Durham University, UK)
Christopher Hirata (Ohio State University, USA)
Daniel Holz (KICP & University of Chicago, USA)
Mustapha Ishak-Boushaki ( University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Marc Kamionkowski (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
Elisabeth Krause (University of Arizona, USA)
Jorge Noreña (PUC-Valparaíso, Chile)
Roman Scoccimarro (New York University, USA)
David Spergel (Center for Computational Astrophysics, Flatiron Institute-New York, USA)
Licia Verde (Institute of Cosmological Sciences-Barcelona, Spain)
Benjamin Wandelt (Institut Langrange de Paris, France)
Matías Zaldarriaga (Institute for Advanced Studies – Princeton, USA)


Cora Dvorkin (Harvard U., USA)
Nelson Padilla (PUC-Santiago, Chile)
Miguel Quartin (UFRJ, Brazil)
Rogerio Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil)

More information


Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.