ICTP-SAIFR Workshop on Determination of Fundamental QCD Parameters

Start time: September 30, 2019
Ends on: October 4, 2019
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

QCD is the established theory for the strong interactions. At present, our knowledge of the QCD parameters, namely the quark masses and the strong coupling, αs,is the limiting factor in increasing the precision of several calculations within the Standard Model. In the absence of direct evidence for new physics at the LHC, precision calculations remain a possible route for unveiling Beyond Standard Model physics.

Topics that will be covered in this workshop include:

1. State-of-the-art extractions of αs and quark masses.
2. Theoretical developments and tools for αs and quark-mass determinations, on the lattice and in the continuum.
3. The impact of QCD parameters in calculations within and beyond the SM. Can we reach the required precision?

In parallel to this activity, ICTP-SAIFR is organizing a program on particle physics. Please check the website for more information: http://www.ictp-saifr.org/ictp-saifr-program-on-particle-physics/

There is no registration fee.

Invited Speakers

– Nora Brambilla (Technische Universität München, Germany)
– Attilio Cucchieri (Instituto de Física de São Carlos – USP, Brazil)
– David D’Enterria* (CERN, Switzerland)
– Cesareo Dominguez (University of Capen Town, South Africa)
– Aida El-Khadra (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA)
– Jens Erler (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico)
– Daniel de Florian (ICAS – Universidad Nacional de San Martin, Argentina)
– Shoji Hashimoto (KEK – Tsukuba, Japan)
– Christian Hoelbling (Universität Wuppertal, Germany)
– Zahari Kassabov* (University of Cambridge, UK)
– Yuichiro Kiyo (Juntendo University, Japan)
– Christopher Lee (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
– Andreas Maier (DESY Zeuthen, Germany)
– Kim Maltman (York University, Canada & University of Adelaide, Australia)
– Peter Marquard* (DESY Zeuthen, Germany)
– Pere Masjuan (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain)
– Aditya Pathak (University of Vienna, Austria)
– Santiago Peris (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain)
– Peter Petreczky (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
– Antonio Pineda (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain)
– Alberto Ramos* (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
– Angelika Widl (University of Vienna, Austria)

* to be confirmed


– Diogo Boito (Instituto de Física de São Carlos – USP, Brazil)
– Maarten Golterman (San Francisco State University, USA)
– Vicent Mateu (Universidad de Salamanca, Spain)
– Jan Piclum (Universität Siegen, Germany)

Registration deadline

July 21, 2019



Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.