Skip to content

Nominations for Feenberg Memorial Medal in Many-Body Physics 2024

The Selection Committee for the Feenberg Memorial Medal in Many-Body Physics is requesting nominations of an outstanding theorist for the Feenberg Medal, awarded for important contributions to many-body theory.

The Feenberg Medal is awarded under the auspices of the International Advisory Committee of the series of International Conferences on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories ( Past recipients are David Pines (1985), John W. Clark (1987), Malvin H. Kalos (1989), Walter Kohn (1991), David M. Ceperley (1994), Lev P. Pitaevskii (1997), Anthony J. Leggett (1999), Philippe Nozières (2001), Spartak T. Belyaev and Lev P. Gorkov (2004), Raymond Bishop and Hermann Kümmel (2005), Stefano Fantoni and Eckhard Krotscheck (2007), J. Dirk Walecka (2009), Gordon A. Baym and Leonid Keldysh (2011), Patrick A. Lee and Douglas J. Scalapino (2013), Christopher J. Pethick (2015), Jordi Boronat (2017), Steven R. White (2019) and Antoine Georges, Gabriel Kotliar and Dieter Vollhardt (2022).

This, the nineteenth award, will be made at the International Conference on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories, RPMBT22, in Tsukuba, Japan in the Fall of 2024. The Selection Committee this year is composed of Efstratios Manousakis (chair), Armen Sedrakian, and Dieter Vollhardt.

The Feenberg Medal is awarded for work that is firmly established and that can be demonstrated to have significantly advanced the field of many-body physics. While this impact may be easier to demonstrate for a nominee whose contributions span a considerable period than for a nominee who has made a single important contribution, both cases will be considered. The award may, in exceptional cases, be shared by up to three people for a single body of work.

When submitting a nomination (see the rules for the Feenberg Award at make sure to include all of the following:

a) A letter of nomination summarizing the most important research contributions of the candidate. This letter should not be more than four pages in length. Up to three letters of support may also be submitted at the same time.
b) The candidate’s complete CV.
c) The candidate’s publication list, citing the most significant 3 to 5 publications first, separated from the rest.
d) A recommended citation of 30 words or less.
e) The nominator’s email address and telephone number.

Please submit all nomination materials as an email attachment in pdf-file format to the following email address: with subject heading: Feenberg Medal Nomination. An acknowledgment of receipt will be sent. The strict deadline for receipt of the complete nomination package is February 15th, 2024.

The complete nomination package will be held for active consideration by three successive Selection Committees. The Committee may contact the nominator for additional information concerning the candidate.

The decision of the Selection Committee will be made in time for the Awardee to be able to attend RPMBT22 in Tsukuba, Japan in the Fall of 2024. Please remember that the complete nomination pdf-file package must be received by the committee by the above-mentioned deadline.

Please actively forward this invitation to knowledgeable colleagues who may inadvertently have been omitted from the circulation list.

In the event that you wish to nominate a candidate and plan to submit up to three letters of support, please ensure that you, as the nominator, are responsible for the final assembling and for electronically submitting the entire recommendation package in pdf-format in a single submission.

We thank you in advance for your involvement. Your nominations enable our community to maintain the high standards set by previous recipients and ensure that the Feenberg Medal continues to play its significant role in recognizing outstanding accomplishments in many-body physics.